Departmental Awards

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option



In the Spring of 2008, the Augusta County Sheriff's Office implemented a new Departmental Awards Program to recognize the achievements of Sheriff's Office members. 


2016 Deputy of the Year, James Lotts (center) pictured with Sheriff Smith and 2015 Deputy of the Year, Cpl. Josh Graves


Members of the Sheriff's Office gathered on February 20, 2017 for an awards luncheon.  The following awards were presented:

Deputy of the year:  James Lotts

The Sheriff's Lifesaving Medal:  Inv(s) Conner Tobin, Steve Cason and William Russell, Deputies Kenneth Randozzo, Matthew Vincent, Janell Hammersberg, Dennis Reynolds, Salvatore "Sal" Copolla, and Christopher Rosemeier (x2)

The Sheriff's Commendation: Inv. Steven Cason, Sgt(s). Michael Roane and James Snyder, and Lt(s). Brian Jenkins and Aaron LeVeck

The Sheriff's Unit Commendation: The Narcotics Division

Supervisor's Commendation:  Inv. Charles "CJ" Taylor, Deputies Janell Hammersberg and William Mikolay