The Government Center will be closed to the public as of 5 pm, March 20, 2020. Please go to

COVID-19 Resources for Government Center Services and Updates

Most services can be done online, over the phone, and through email. Don't see what you need? Call 540-245-5600. Staff is still here to help.


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

ACSO PatchThe Augusta County Sheriff’s Office has 80 sworn deputies, including 5 part-time, that make up the Sheriff’s Office. These officers serve in the department’s five major component units or divisions. The largest and most frequently observed division is the 39 member Deputy Patrol Division. Patrol is responsible for answering calls for service, executing warrants, initial crime investigations, and order maintenance. The next most visible division in the Sheriff’s Office is the Civil Process Division. These 4 uniformed officers are responsible for the service of all Civil Process in the county. The Criminal Investigations Division is a 7 officer unit that is responsible for the investigation of all serious crimes including robberies, homicides, sexual assaults, forgeries, breaking and entering, and major larcenies.

The Court Security Division is responsible for the safety and orderly conduct in all three county criminal courts and it is staffed by 8 deputies. Proactively the Crime Prevention Division encompasses all of our educational and prevention efforts towards reducing crime in the County of Augusta. Other deputies at the Sheriff’s Office work in specialized units. 

                               Taurus patrol